top of page


University of NorTh texas - PAUL QUINN - Texas A&m Commerce - University of NorTh texas DallAs 

The Glamorous Gamma Iota

Paul Quinn College

The “Glamorous” Gamma Iota Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho was chartered December 14, 1963 at Paul Quinn College while it resided in Waco, TX by Shirley Ann Gray, Carolyn Sue Hillard, Edna Deloris Smith-Trotter, Claudia Thompson, and Vonciel Washington. As the first Greek-lettered organization on the campus of Paul Quinn College, Sigma Gamma Rho has always and continues to be a trailblazer, while positively impacting the campus through sisterhood, scholarship, and service. The magnitude of Gamma Iota’s innovation can be seen in the quality of their sisterhood and in their signature programs.


The Exquisite Eta Alpha 

University of North Texas

The Eta Alpha Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority was originally chartered on February 7, 1976, with 6 charter members on the campus of the University of North Texas. On October 28, 1991, ten “Exquisite” ladies brought Sigma Gamma Rho back to the university after brief hiatus. Eta Alpha strives to keep the torch of Sigma shining brightly on campus through community service, empowerment of women, education, and sisterhood. The values of the sorority are upheld through several premiere programs and service opportunities. 


The Mystifying Mu Zeta

Texas A&M University-Commerce

The sheer resolve of one young lady, Soror Drulisia Moss, brought a new meaning of sisterhood, higher scholastic achievement, and commitment to poise and dignity through the establishment of the Mu Zeta chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority on December 6, 1991 at Texas A&M University – Commerce, which was then known as East Texas State University. Under the guidance of Soror Lecia Swain, a Southwestern Regional Syntaktes, Mu Zeta flourished and took Commerce by storm. As the “Mystifying” Mu Zeta Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority continues to elevate the ideals of the sorority, they continue to inspire others to action through original programming and service opportunities.


The Undeniable Upsilon Mu

University of North Texas at Dallas

The Upsilon Mu chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority was officially chartered on April 23, 2023, at the University of North Texas at Dallas. This great achievement was led by Denita Branch and chartered by a group of five "Undeniable" women: Kela Bunton, Jacey Sarai-Brown, Krystal Deckard, Wynita Rivers, and Stephanie Wright. Upsilon Mu remains dedicated to advancing the mission and principles of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority within their community, pursuing greater progress in the realms of health awareness, education, and leadership development.

bottom of page